All landowners must control and eradicate noxious weeds on their property, as enforced by State of Kansas law articles 13.2-1314 to 2-1332.

There are 12 weeds declared noxious by the state: Bur ragweed, Canada thistle, field bindweed, hoary cress, johnsongrass, kudzu, leafy spurge, musk thistle, pignut, quackgrass, Russian knapweed, and sericea lespedeza.

The Harvey County Noxious Weeds Department sells herbicides for landowners to use in the eradication of noxious weeds. The herbicides can be purchased from 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Friday at the noxious weeds office, located at 1425 N. Spencer Rd. in Newton, Kansas.