The Harvey County Treasurer's Office is an agent for the State of Kansas for registering and titling motor vehicles. We issue license plates upon receipt of proper documentation and submission of correct fees. The fees include registration fees, personal property taxes, title fees, and sales tax, if applicable.
Once a vehicle is purchased, either from a dealer or individual, the new owner has 60 days from the date of purchase to bring their documentation into our office to be processed without penalties. Some of the documentation needed is listed below.
If the purchase is an out-of-state title, the owner of the vehicle needs to have a vehicle identification inspection (MVE-1) completed. There is a $20.00 charge (cash only) at the time of inspection. A Kansas Highway Patrol Officer MUST do the following inspections: Out of State inspections and all salvage/non-highway titles ($25.00 fee). ALL vehicles moving into Harvey County from out-of-state must also have this inspection completed before registering. If moving from out of state and your lienholder is holding your title, you MUST have the lienholder fax the FRONT AND BACK of your title to OUR OFFICE. They will not accept the fax to any other location.
The Kansas Highway Patrol conducts inspections in Harvey County, in Newton, on Fridays ONLY. The hours are 9:00am until Noon for the inspections. The address is: 1020 East 12th St, Newton, KS. The phone number for that office is 316-283-1920. Contact our office for further information.
For information about other States registration, titles, etc, please visit www.onlinedmv.com
NO VEHICLE TITLEWORK PROCESSED AFTER 4:00PM. ALL OTHER VEHICLE BUSINESS STOPS AT 4:45PM.
Lien Releases and E-Titles
Beginning in January of 2003, Kansas has been holding titles if there is a lien. This means that you will no longer get a title unless it is a clear title. These titles are called "Electronic Titles" or "E-titles". The only way to get an E- title printed is to submit, to the County office, a NOTARIZED lien release. When you bring this document into the office, the clerk will process a Lien Release transaction, at no additional cost. A paper title should be issued within 10-14 days following this transaction.
Selling and purchasing vehicles with E-titles is possible with the correct forms. Please visit the KDOR website www.ksrevenue.org for the correct forms, which include an Electronic Sales Agreement. Please be aware that we will need the sellers Lien Release to process the Electronic Sales Agreement if you are purchasing the vehicle. This will allow the purchaser a 60 day tag until the proper title can be printed and assigned to the new owner. An Electronic Power of Attorney may also be used if the seller wishes to allow the purchaser to sign the title using the POA. This form can also be found at www.ksrevenue.org.
If purchasing a vehicle from a Kansas dealer, they are required to collect sales tax for the county where the dealership is located. If the sales tax percentage is lower in that county than in Harvey County, we will collect the difference. Example: If purchasing out of county where the sales tax is 7.3%, we will collect the remaining 1%, making the total collected 8.3%. This amount may change according to the increase or decrease of sales tax in Kansas. If purchasing a vehicle from either an individual or dealership outside of Kansas, we will collect the full sales tax at the time of titling your vehicle.
Heavy Trucks and Trailers tags expire Dec 31, but cannot be purchased until after Jan 1st. There is a grace period through February without a late penalty.
|Alpha By Name||Tag Expires at Midnight On|
|C D||Apr 30|
|E F G||May 31|
|H I||Jun 30|
|J K L||Jul 31|
|M N O||Aug 31|
|P Q R||Sep 30|
|T V W||Nov 30|
|U X Y Z||Dec 31|
Each year the State sends out courtesy reminders six weeks prior to the expiration date of the license plate. There are several ways to renew your license tags. Instructions are printed below.
IN OFFICE RENEWALS
Our office is open from 8:00 am until 4:30 pm Monday through Friday, through the noon hour, to handle the renewal of your registration. You will need to submit the following items:
Photocopies of the following documents are considered proof of insurance (Insurance renewal notices and bills from insurance companies are NOT acceptable proof of insurance.):
Certificate of insurance
An insurance card issued by an insurance company
Certificate of self insurance
Motor carrier ID number issued by the corporation commission
This system makes it convenient for Kansas motorists to renew their vehicle registration electronically. In addition, motorists may renew their vehicle registration using a touch-tone telephone by calling: 1-785-296-3621.
To renew online, all of the following must be true:
The online web renewal option, www.kswebtags.org, will accept your renewal payment by:
The phone renewal option, 1-785-296-3621, will accept your renewal payment by:
The payment processor (credit card or e-check) charges a convenience fee for use of this service.
To renew your tags electronically:
If you qualify for Kansas E-tags, your decal(s) and/or plate(s), along with your official receipt will be mailed from your County Treasurer's Motor Vehicle office in approximately 10 days. Please allow sufficient time when renewing electronically to ensure your registration does not expire. Motor vehicles cannot be legally operated without a current decal or plate.
The following plate types CANNOT be renewed electronically:
The county reserves the right to electronically debit your account for both the face amount and return check fees if returned unpaid.